Argyle Diamonds Is the Pink Version of Gemstone that is Obtained from Argyle Mine

When we talk about diamonds we have a picture of crystal clear white diamond in our mind, a solitaire that sparkle different colours due to its special cut and clarity. However, there are diamonds that appear in different colours like green, red, blue and pink. All of them are combined with different minerals and chemicals to provide it a different colour. However, one diamond, argyle, has an original pink colour which is derived from argyle diamond mine in Australia.

This mine is situated in East Kimberly area of Western Australia. It’s the biggest producer of coloured gemstones. It was in 1979, that few geologists discovered something pink glittering in the anthill which was later confirmed to be pink diamond. Australian origin argyle pink diamonds are owned by Rio Tinto Limited. It’s the only source from where red and pink diamonds are supplied to 90% of the world.

Argyle diamonds can be understood through three steps –

  • Production
  • Characteristics
  • Grading


The Australian Argyle mine is mostly responsible for the production of argyle red and pink diamonds. In a year, the production is around 35 million carats. The mine was opened in 1983 and since then, it has generated around 750 million diamonds. Pink diamonds are 1% of all the diamonds available in the mine because it needs more than 400 million years for the stone to turn pink, which is not the time period given to it. Thus, here is the percentage of the productivity of all coloured diamonds –

  • Brown diamonds – 80%
  • Yellow diamonds – 16%
  • Grey diamonds – 2%
  • White diamonds – 2%
  • Pink diamonds – 1%


Argyle diamonds are famous for their flawless pink colour and the way they change their colour after they are placed under UV rays. Some geologists claim that the reason for its pink colour is extreme pressure and heat from volcanic rocks. While some claim that during the formation of this stone, few traces of this element was open to carbon atoms which changed its colour.


A diamond is divided into three categories

  • Hues mean the dominant colour of the gemstone.
  • Saturation is the density of hue and strength of colour.
  • Tone is the stage of darkness or brightness.

Depending upon the colour intensity a pink diamond has nine degrees –

  • Purplish Pink
  • Pink
  • Pink Rose
  • Pink Champagne
  • Blue Violet
  • Red

Although Argyle may be the most important and leading mine that generates pink diamonds but, very soon the supply would become rare. This is because pink diamonds need millions of years for formation which is impossible for a dealer to provide.

Comments are closed.